Finalists announced for European Capital of Innovation

Finalists announced for European Capital of Innovation

Twelve cities have made it into the final round to become the European Capital of Innovation 2020. The H2020 prize recognises European cities that have developed vibrant innovation ecosystems to address public challenges and improve citizen's lives. 

This year's finalists, spanning nine countries, are:

  • Cluj-Napoca (Romania)
  • Espoo (Finland)
  • Ghent (Belgium)
  • Groningen (The Netherlands)
  • Helsingborg (Sweden)
  • Leeuwarden (The Netherlands)
  • Leuven (Belgium)
  • Linz (Austria)
  • Milano (Italy)
  • Reykjavik (Iceland)
  • Valencia (Spain)
  • Vienna (Austria)

Congratulations to all ERRIN member organisation's represented among the finalists, including Flanders, Region Skåne, Lärosäten Syd, Vienna Business Agency, the Helsinki EU office, WaterCampus Leeuwarden, Generalitat Valenciana and Veneto.

The winner will be announced at the European Reseach and Innovation Days 2020 (22-24 September) and will receive €1,000,000 to support its innovation activities. 

Read more here