Tallinn Ministerial Declaration on eGovernment

Date: 09/10/2017

European Union and European Free Trade Area (EFTA) member states have signed the Tallinn Declaration on eGovernment, a new European commitment on significant priorities towards ensuring high-quality, user-centric digital public services for citizens and seamless cross-border service provision for businesses.

Building on previous initiatives such as the EU eGovernment Action Plan 2016-2020 and the European Interoperability Framework, the Tallinn Declaration sets out six lines of policy action to move towards the five-year objectives (2018-2022) at both national and EU levels:

  1. Digital-by-default, inclusiveness and accessibility
  2. Once only “for key public services”
  3. Trustworthiness and security
  4. Openness and transparency 
  5. Interoperability by default
  6. Horizontal enabling policy steps

In the annex of the Declaration, ministers in charge of policy and coordination of digital public services in the 32 signatory countries commit to designing and delivering their services, guided by the principles of user-centricity. 

The Tallinn Declaration was signed during the EU/EFTA Ministerial Meeting which took place in the framework of the eGovernment Ministerial Conference. Urve Palo, Estonian minister of entrepreneurship and information technology, representing the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, chaired the meeting, while Andrus Ansip, European Commission vice-president for the digital single market, delivered the keynote. 

The Lisbon Council served as strategic adviser to the project and offered evidence and insight through research, high-level roundtables and an open online consultation.

Read the Ministrial Declaration on eGovernment: The 2017 Tallinn Declaration here.