Provincie Utrecht

The province of Utrecht spans 155,400 hectares and consists of 26 municipalities with a joint population of 1,3 million. The key priorities for the province are Healthy Urban Living including Climate Adaptation, Energy Transition, Mobility, (cycling, regional motorways and Public Transport), Environment, Nature, Agriculture, Recreation & Tourism, Spatial Development and economy.

Contact detail

  • Regional Address

    Archimedeslaan 6
    3584 BA Utrecht

Provincie Utrecht

S3 Strategy

The challenge the Western Netherlands wants to meet is that of, in cooperation with our social, economic and public partners and in addition to existing national and regional.

Strategic R&I Projects


We aim to improve SMEs uptake of Environmentally Sustainable Innovations (ESIs) into their business. For that the regions need to work further on how to develop models such as the cooperative business support model(s).


Latest Updates

  • By Lucy Hammond

100 ERRIN member cities and regions become signatories of the EU Mission for Adaptation to Climate Change Charter

During the recent European Research and Innovation Days, the European Commission announced the 2nd wave of signatories to the EU Mission for Adaptation to Climate Change Charter, with a further 100 regions and local authorities signing. Of the now 215 signatories, a staggering 100 are associated with ERRIN member cities and regions.