ERRIN and over 50 network members among the first to join and endorse the Adaptation Mission

ERRIN and over 50 network members among the first to join and endorse the Adaptation Mission

At the first Forum on Mission Adaptation to Climate Change organised at the European Committee of the Regions today, the European Commission announced the first regions and local authorities to join the Mission Adaptation to Climate Change by signing the Mission Charter. First organisations to endorse the Mission and become Friends of the Mission were also revealed.

The Mission Adaptation to Climate Change aims at supporting around 150 regions and communities in Europe towards reaching climate resilience by fostering the development of innovative solutions. By signing the Mission Charter, 118 regions and local authorities announced today will become the first members of a community of practice on adaptation to climate change and will have the opportunity to network and share with other regions and communities in Europe. With a shared ambition to become climate-resilient by 2030, they will also gain access to the services of the Mission Implementation Platform, which will be operational in early 2023.

ERRIN is pleased to note that 53 ERRIN member regions and cities were among the first ones to be selected to participate in the Adaptation Mission. Congratulations to all our successful members! ERRIN is also honoured to share that it was announced as one of the 17 Friends of the Mission that are active in improving climate resilience and will be endorsing the Mission.

Networks such as ERRIN are crucial in encouraging regions and cities to join the Mission, providing inputs in the Mission process as well as supporting the Mission implementation. ERRIN has mobilised multiple regions and cities in this process and organised various activities on the Adaptation Mission – examples from 2022 include the sounding board meeting with the Mission Secretariat to discuss key issues related to the mission and an input document to the Mission Charter. By becoming a Friend of the Mission, ERRIN looks forward to continuing to support its members to share and collaborate in order to reach their various adaptation ambitions as part of one community.

The full list of selected regions and local authorities can be found here and the list of selected ERRIN members can be found below.

Regions and local authorities that have not yet expressed their interest in signing the Mission Charter and joining the Mission are still encouraged to do so by completing this survey. New signatories are expected to be announced during the European Research and Innovation Days on 28-29 September 2022. Other entities, such as research institutions or businesses may also endorse the Charter to declare their support to the Mission.

Read the official announcement of the first Mission Charter signatories and Friends of the Mission here.

Regions and cities selected as first signatories of the Mission Charter that are ERRIN members:

  • Aragon
  • Ayuntamiento de Soutomaior
  • Balearic Islands
  • Basque Country
  • Catalonia
  • City of Blankenberge
  • City of Bremen
  • City of Elbląg
  • City of Gdańsk
  • City of Hasselt
  • City of Konin
  • City of Lublin
  • City of Rabka-Zdrój
  • City of Świecie
  • City of Turek
  • City of Turku
  • City of Vitoria-Gasteiz
  • City of Wrocław
  • City of Zakopane
  • Comunitat Valenciana
  • Extremadura
  • Gelsenkirchen
  • Gmina Miejska Lidzbark Warmiński
  • Gmina Pieszyce
  • Gmina Sorkwity
  • Gmina Wisznia Mała
  • Gran Canaria
  • Lapland
  • Lower Silesia
  • Municipality of Amersfoort
  • Municipality of Cesano Maderno (Lombardy)
  • Navarra
  • Province of Potenza (Basilicata)
  • Province of Utrecht
  • Region de Murcia
  • Region Ile-de-France
  • Region Normandie
  • Region Nouvelle-Aquitaine
  • Region Occitanie
  • Region of Central Denmark
  • Region of Emilia-Romagna
  • Region of Flanders
  • Region of North Denmark
  • Region of Southern Denmark
  • Region of Southwest Finland
  • Region of Trento
  • Region of Veneto
  • Region Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
  • Region Zealand
  • Rotterdam
  • Troms & Finnmark County
  • Ville de Paris
  • Vordingborg Municipality