New members of the EU Missions Boards announced

New members of the EU Missions Boards announced

Yesterday the European Commission announced 75 new top experts who will advise on the five EU Missions through serving on their Boards. Their mandate will run from 2022 to 2025.

Each Mission Board consists of 15 experts, including a Chair. They will be on the front line to give advice on the next steps, promote the EU Missions and build on the work of the Mission Boards from the first phase that ran from 2019 to 2021.

ERRIN is thrilled that Françoise Guaspare from Île-de-France Europe, one of the Transport Working Group leaders, will serve on the Mission Board of the Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities Mission.

More than 1100 candidates from across Europe and beyond applied to become members of the Mission Boards. Selected experts are considered high-level individuals with an excellent track record of public service and citizen engagement. A first Mission Boards introduction will take place at the European Research and Innovation Days on 28-29 September 2022.

Learn more and find the list of all the new EU Mission Boards members here.

ERRIN has been following the EU Missions since the start. The network has actively contributed to shaping the Mission on Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities both through the participation in the Mission Assembly as well as through the development of several input papers and discussions with the European Commission. In April 2022, 71 cities from ERRIN Member Regions have been selected to take part in the Cities Mission and in May 2022 ERRIN shared its messages on the Mission Work Programmes for 2023-2024 and the involvement of regional actors. ERRIN is also engaged in supporting members through European projects such as the NetZeroCities and MOSAIC.

Read more about ERRIN’s work around the Mission Cities here.